That Random Mumma

Sharing my journey through writing.

SELF LOVE ~ BECOMING A BUTTERFLY.

πŸ›=πŸ¦‹

“I’m pushing the edge.
Feeling it crack
And once I get out.
There’s no turning back.
Watching the butterfly
Go towards the sun.
I wonder what I will become” ~ Hilary Duff _ Metamorphosis.

We all know that to become a butterfly the caterpillar must wrapped itself in a protective cocoon and transformation will happen.

It also has to happen to us humans, if we were to stay the same forever, we would not be the best versions of ourselves. From the day we are born, we are learning, growing, changing it. Why must it stop when we are adults?

Self-love seems to be the hardest thing for some to accept and love.

So how does one learn self-love.? Well, it comes down to the person, me for example I am not a girly girl. Never have been, never really had feminine friends and role models growing up.

My mother discouraged make up during teenage hood and when I was old enough to do it, he techniques were to old to use.

Same goes for my hair, I basically has the same hair style all my life. A simple yet boring ponytail. I had no one to teach me.

When I get the chance to change my hair I jump at the idea of trying new styles and colors, it helping me while teaching my daughter that she can do whatever she wants with her hair.

My self-love journey started out slow.

I started locking the bathroom door while showering (kids need I say more). Giving me my own little Cocoon to do a sort of beauty routine.

I started doing face masks.
I threw out all my make up except mascara, I realized I didn’t need it to love myself.
I try and change up what products I use.
I started using body scrub.
It the morning for school drop off I like to do my hair, some days it is a boring ponytail but lately it’s been something new yet simple.
It’s the small things that help me.
Starting small is easier than jumping into the deep end and trying to swim.

Leave a comment