That Random Mumma

Sharing my journey through writing.

Building Self-confidence and expressing myself.

Building Self-confidence and expressing myself.

Growing up I was told what I should and should not wear to accommodate my body type. Black to make myself look thinner, tops to cover the imperfections and my belly, what makeup I should wear to cover my freckles and how I should do it, my lack of hair styles was depressing.

Now at 33 years old I am throwing all that knowledge out the window, I am wearing clothing that I like for myself, not to please others, or to hide my body.

It started the day I threw out 99% of my makeup. All I have now is one stick of mascara, I hated wearing it so why keep it? Natural is better in my eyes. I barely wear my mascara because I forget about it.
I don’t need a face full of makeup to be happy with my appearance.
Next was in my closet, I had outfits in there that only grandmas would wear, baggy, unflattering outfits that should have been burned for being ugly.
I donated them back to lifeline and now have the clothing I want to wear, the clothing I feel comfortable in. I have even altered somethings to make them useable for my looks.

I am the parent that does school pickups mostly, so getting dressed in my outfits is sometimes daunting, I slip up and blank that I don’t care what the other parents think. I have started thinking to myself that exact motto when I am waiting for my kids to come out, I am there for them and them only. I get side eyed, trust me, they are not as sneaky as they think they are.

I am happy with my outfit, it shows who I am, I am the weird mother, but at least my kids love me for that. They don’t judge me for what I wear, what I say or do. They are helping me in their own way and in my way I am showing them they can be their own person and not to follow silly fashion trends.

I do not want to spend the rest of my days, worried about how I look, afraid to express myself, afraid of what people outside my house think of me, no one should, it is not living your life for you, it is living your life for others.

I am loving this new person I am morphing into.

Leave a comment